Women receive bowling awards

The Thursday Afternoon Ladies Bowling League held its year-end awards banquet Thursday at Eastown Recreation Center.  The committee of Lynn Arthur, Vienna Renner, Sharon Luegers and Diana Collins provided the luncheon. 

League Secretary Leisa Lowrey presented the awards. The League Champion was the Pin Pals team, consisting of Pamela Catt, Geri Slocum and Marlene Eck, and the runner-up team was the Gutter Girls, comprised of Pat Riley, Liz Hagen and Leisa Lowrey. The award for the League High Average went to Marlene Eck, and Liz Hagen received the Most Improved Bowler Award. Diana Collins won the Best Attendance Award, and honors for Highest Game and Highest Series went to Pamela Catt and Pat Riley, respectively.  Vienna Renner and Paula Marshall shared the Good Sportsmanship Award.

The banquet ended with a “fun bowling” session.  Liz Hagen won the Target Score prize, and Ginger Hedinger and Liz Hagen won the Blind Partners game.

The Thursday Afternoon Ladies League begins its 2020-21 season on Sept. 3, and will continue for 30 weeks. Women of all bowling abilities, including no bowling experience at all, are welcome to join. Individual bowlers will be placed on a team, or prospective bowlers may form their own teams of two or three members.

Interested women should contact league president Diana Collins at 812-634-9568.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com