Trooper promoted to region’s SWAT team


JASPER — Indiana State Police Superintendent Doug Carter has promoted Senior Trooper Charles Johnson from the Jasper Post to the Indiana State Police South Zone SWAT Team.


Johnson is a Perry County native and 10 year veteran of the Indiana State Police.

The new SWAT trooper graduated from the 68th Indiana State Police Recruit Academy on Dec. 21, 2007. After graduating the Recruit Academy, Johnson was assigned to the Jasper Post, where he has patrolled primarily Perry County for the majority of his career.

In his decade of service, Johnson has been a field training officer, a tactical intervention (riot squad) platoon member, a defensive tactics instructor, an Indiana Law Enforcement Academy instructor and a marijuana eradication coordinator.

“Senior Trooper Johnson will be an asset to the SWAT Team and will continue to serve the citizens of Indiana well in his new assignment,” said Jasper Post Commander Lt. Jason Allen.

Before joining the Indiana State Police, Johnson spent three years serving as a corrections officer for the Indiana Department of Correction. He was also a firearms instructor during his time with IDOC.

Johnson has served as the Perry County Fraternal Order of Police, Lodge No. 137, president for the last five years. The FOP participates in numerous community events throughout the year, including sponsoring a weeklong kids camp where youth spend time with police officers in the outdoors.

The Jasper Post covers seven counties: Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Martin, Orange, Perry and Spencer.

More on