Students compete in science fair

The Jasper Middle School Science Team. Front row, from left, Karis Wigand, Carson Book, Jon Green, Lacy Huckelby, Marissa Gonzales, Elise Lampert and  Jade Maki; second row, Abby Buschkoetter, Abby Rodeck, Vanessa Mejia, Haley Laymon, Brenna Hildenbrand,  Tori Brandt, Reagan Fortwendel, Karleigh LeMond, Kaleigh Dunn, Hallie Skorge and Mrs.Debi Quade; and third row, Lilly Rasche, Allison Schnarr, Allie Werner, Grace Kaeck, Kailyn Wright, Chloe Henke, Hope Fromme, Ellie Knies, Kaylee Stinnett, Kyrsten Crowder, Keionnah Elliott, Sara Leonard and Kailtyn Kaeck.

Middle and high school students from across southern Indiana participated in the 35th annual team Crane Science Fair at Naval Support Activity Crane on April 4. There were 189 students competing to win top awards and cash prizes from multiple sponsoring organizations and private donors. 

Crane NSWC supports this event as part of a program to promote student interest in careers associated with Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. 

The Jasper Middle School science team sent 30 students with 16 projects to compete in the various categories. The first-place project in each category received a trophy and $50.  The second and third place in each category received a trophy.   

The following students were recognized in their various categories:

Behavioral and Social Science: first, Reagan Fortwendel and Karleigh LeMond; second, Hope Fromme and Ellie Knies; third, Brenna Hildenbrand and Haley Laymon.

Biology: first, Kaleigh Dunn and Hallie Skorge, second, Tori Brandt and Karis Wigand.

Consumer Sciences: first, Abby Buschkoetter and Allie Schnarr; second, Kaitlyn Kaeck.

Environmental Sciences: third, Elise Lampert and Jade Maki.

Abby Buschkoetter and Allie Schnarr received the second-place overall award in the Junior Division. They both received a drone for the achievement.

Second- and third-place winners received trophies and first-place winners received $50 and a trophy.

Students who received participation certificates were sixth-grade students, Carson Book and Jon Green; seventh-grade students, Marissa Gonzales, Chloe Henke, Grace Kaeck, Lilly Rasche, Kaylee Stinnett, Allie Werner and Kailyn Wright; and eighth-grade students, Krysten Crowder, Keionnah Elliott, Lacy Huckelby, Sara Leonard, Vanessa Meija and Abby Rodeck.

More on