Spencer County tabs new commissioner, treasurer

Herald Staff Writer

Spencer County voters made a change to their slate of commissioners and elected a new county treasurer Tuesday.

Incumbent Democratic Commissioner Thomas “Al” Logsdon (6,939 votes) was unopposed in District 2 and District 3 incumbent Republican David Gogel fended off a challenge by Democrat Tim Sigler with 4,989 votes to Sigler’s 4,523. In the at-large race where three seats were available, Democrat incumbent William “Bill” Spaetti was the top vote-getter with 5,176 tallies but it was Republican challenger Jim Seiler who finished second with 4,786 votes. The final at-large spot went to Democratic incumbent David J. Kress, who had 4,712 votes. Losing his seat was Democratic incumbent Charles L. Waninger, who had 4,495 votes. Republican challengers Charlie Finecy and Lee Frobeter finished with 3,937 votes and 4,499 votes, respectively.

Republican challenger Susan Harris won the county treasurer’s race over Democratic incumbent Anita Talbott Frakes, with 5,381 votes to Frakes’ 4,075.

Incumbent Gay Ann Harney, a Democrat, won the race for circuit court clerk with 4,895 votes over Republican Heidi Young’s 4,600.

The county recorder’s race saw Democratic incumbent Sharon Dugas prevailing over Republican Cindy Limp with 5,269 votes to Limp’s 4,183.

Incumbent Democrat Stanley “Bomber” Herron (6,675 votes) was unopposed in his quest for another term as county surveyor.

The North Spencer School Board had no contested races as incumbent Don Detzer (3,721 votes) was without competition for the Grass-Jackson Township seat and incumbent Lori Gogel (3,575 votes) and Clint Coleman (2,990 votes) were the only people who filed for the two available Carter-Harrison Township seats. Carter-Harrison incumbent Madonna Kline did not seek re-election.

Voters in the southern portion of the county decided two seats on the South Spencer School Board on Tuesday. Ohio Township incumbent representative Jane Whitney succumbed to the challenge from Derek Allen, with Allen garnering 1,723 votes to Whitney’s 1,619. Three people -- Joseph Drew Collins, Kevin Kebortz and Barbara Tuley -- were in the hunt for a Luce Township seat that was open because board President Jim Boyer did not seek re-election. Tuley won with 1,389 votes to Kebortz’s 1,275 and Collins’ 673.

Democrat Mike Schriefer of Santa Claus running to represent District 74 in the General Assembly garnered 2,692 votes in Spencer County to Leavenworth Republican Lloyd Arnold’s 1,879. Arnold went on to win the seat.

In the District 75 state representative race, incumbent Republican Ron Bacon of Chandler was re-elected. In Spencer County he bested Democrat Kevin Derr of Boonville, 2,717 votes to 2,301.

As did the rest of the state, Spencer County voters chose Republican Mike Pence for governor with 5,059 votes to Democrat John R. Gregg’s 4,385 votes and Libertarian Rupert Boneham’s 215 votes. County voters also chose a winner with Republican Greg Zoeller over Kay Fleming for state attorney general, 5,289 votes to 3,890.

For the superintendent of public instruction, Spencer County votes favored Democrat Glenda Ritz, with 4,949 votes, over Republican Tony Bennett, with 4,432 votes. Ritz went on to win.

In the 8th District congressional race, Spencer County went with incumbent Republican Larry D. Bucshon, with 5,091 votes, over Democrat Dave Crooks, who received 4,125 votes, and Libertarian Bart Gadau, who earned 302 votes. Bucshon won the seat.

Contact Bill Powell at bpowell@dcherald.com.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com