Spencer Co races decide Rockport mayor, councils

From Local Sources

Tuesday’s Municipal Election included several contested races in Spencer County.

Republican Don Winkler won the Rockport mayor’s race against challenger Gay Ann Harney, a Democrat. Republican Joseph A. Carpenter secured the City Council Ward 1 seat in Rockport, and Republican Ferman Yearby III secured the council’s Ward 2 seat. Republican Darrell Wilson won the Rockport council at-large race.

The Santa Claus Town Council also got a new look. Those elected to the council include Democrat Tricia Vaal, and Republicans Kevin Kent Burke and Seth R. Windell.

Those elected to the Dale Town Council include Republicans Kenneth Beasley Jr., Deloss H. Painter and Donald E. Wertman; Democrat Ray Striegel; and Independent Larry May.

Those elected to the Grandview Town Council include Republicans Dakota Risse, Doug Risse and Stacey Schwoeppe; and Independents Angela Marie Fischer and Jordan Allen Sheets.

Those elected to the Richland Town Council include Independents Anne Decker, Nathan Jones, Dan J. Kincaid, Terry L. Sarver and Theresa Ellen Sarver.

Voter turnout in Spencer County was 35.98%.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com