Southern Hills merges with LifeSpring Health

From Local Sources

JASPER — LifeSpring Health Systems in Jeffersonville and Southern Hills Counseling Center in Jasper have officially merged into one organization. The new organization will take the LifeSpring Health Systems name, and no staff or programs were changed as a result of the merger, which is effective today.

Staff and each organization’s board of directors spent more than a year performing due diligence reviews and determined that the residents of southern Indiana could best be served by merging into a single entity.

“We have identified many ways that we can more effectively and efficiently serve Southern Indiana residents by working together,” said LifeSpring CEO Dr. Terry Stawar. “Individuals from Madison to Rockport will now be able to receive comprehensive care all within one organization. We look forward to carrying on the long-standing tradition of providing high quality clinical services Southern Hills started nearly 50 years ago.”

LifeSpring Health Systems and Southern Hills Counseling Center are both long-standing nonprofits that have served their communities for over half a century. Together they provide behavioral health services to nearly 12,500 individuals annually. The organizations have a long, positive relationship working together for the provision of human services to children, youth, adults and families in the Southern Indiana region.

“A merger with LifeSpring gives us an great opportunity to maintain the behavioral health services that we are currently providing and even to expand those services,” said Joe Kimmel, executive director of Southern Hills. “We are excited to be joining LifeSpring and grateful for the opportunity to work with LifeSpring staff to develop a new our common vision for integrated health services in southern Indiana.”

Kimmel will retire following a merger transition period and Stawar will serve as CEO of the integrated organization.

The merged organization will serve as the state-designated community mental health center in 11 counties: Clark, Crawford, Dubois, Floyd, Harrison, Jefferson, Orange, Perry, Scott, Spencer and Washington. It will be headquartered in Jeffersonville.


More on