Rotary announces ATHENA finalists

JASPER — The Rotary Club of Jasper, hosting its eight annual ATHENA International Leadership Award presentation in Dubois County, has announced this year’s six finalists. They are Jane Balsmeyer, Jenny Fowler, Judy Jochem-Nino, Tracy Lorey, Nancy Otte and Jill Wigand. The Rotary Club of Jasper’s web site will soon have more finalist information.

The event will be held at the Huntingburg Event Center at 6 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 22, with Sue Ellsperman, a Ferdinand native, former lieutenant governor of Indiana, former member of the Indiana House Representatives and current president of Ivy Tech Community College, as the keynote speaker. The dinner will begin at 6:30 p.m.

Founded in 1982 by Martha Mayhood Mertz, ATHENA International is a non-profit organization that seeks to support, develop and honor women leaders. Supporting, honoring, and developing women leaders are the foundations of the ATHENA Leadership Model which identifies attributes that are reflective of women’s contributions to leadership.

More on