Rolen named as Silver Team honoree

Herald File Photo
Scott Rolen (right) was one of 18 players selected as a Silver Team honoree by the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame this week. The Silver Anniversary Team is comprised of players who had significant accomplishments during their senior season of basketball 25 years ago

From Herald Staff Reports

Jasper High School alum and native Scott Rolen was recently recognized for his efforts in baseball by being named to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America ballot for baseball’s Hall of Fame. Now he’s receiving recognition for another sport.

Rolen is one of 18 men honored by the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame as a member of the 2018 Silver Anniversary Team — a team comprised of players who displayed exceptional skill as high school seniors 25 years ago. They will be honored on March 21, 2018.

During his time at Jasper, Rolen received several different accolades for his play on the court.

He was a member of the 1993 Indiana All-Star team, a member of the Associated Press All-State team, a member of the IBCA All-State team and also the 1993 Tri-State co-player of the year along with Toby Madison who is also an honoree on this year’s silver team.

Rolen finished with 1,107 career points with the Wildcats and averaged high scoring numbers during his junior and senior seasons — 21.2 in 1992 and 27.1 during his senior campaign in 1993.

He also set several school single-game records including most points in a game (50) and also most points in a sectional game (47).

While with the Cats, Rolen was also named to the Big Eight All-Conference team twice and also a member of the all-sectional team twice.

Rolen was offered scholarships with several large basketball programs including UCLA, Oklahoma State, Georgia and even a walk-on opportunity at Kentucky but ended up being selected in the second round of the 1993 MLB Draft and chose to pursue baseball instead.

Since 1999, Rolen has been the executive director of the E5 Foundation — a program he founded to assist children and families that are dealing with adversity.

Several other area players were named as Silver Team honorees including Noy Castillo, BJ Flynn, Toby Madison and Sherron Wilkerson.

Castillo, who played basketball at New Albany, was a 1992 honorable-mention member of the All-State team and also a three-time Hoosier Hills all-conference player.

He averaged 20.9 ppg as a senior and graduated as the school’s all-time leading scorer with 1,283 points. He played college basketball for four years at The Citadel and graduated as the school’s 16th all-time leading scorer with 1,086 points and averaged 10.6 ppg.

Flynn averaged 15.3 ppg on the 1993 state champion Jeffersonville team. Over the final ten games of the state championship season, Flynn averaged 17 ppg and shot 54 percent from the field and 81 percent from the free-throw line.

He started his collegiate career at Duquense before transferring to Louisville where he was a part of three NCAA tournament teams that won 19+ games including reaching both the Sweet Sixteen and Elite Eight.

Madison was the Tri-State co-player of the year with Scott Rolen after being named to the Blue Chip All-Conference team twice as a member of the Washington Catholic Cardinals.

He finished with 1,637 career points and 498 rebounds and averaged a career-high 29.9 ppg and 7.9 rpg his senior season. He played collegiately at South Alabama and Evansville.

Wilkerson was named the Gatorade Indiana Player of the Year as well as a McDonald’s All-American.
He totaled 1,140 career points at Jeffersonville before playing at both Indiana and Rio Grande.

More on