Races decided in Spencer County

By Herald Staff

Several contested races were decided in Spencer County on Tuesday.

A total of 10,915 of the county's 15,056 registered voters turned out at the polls, or 72.5%.

In all, 7,354 of the county's voters voted for Donald Trump/Mike Pence; 3,208 voted for Joseph Biden/Kamala Harris; 199 voted for Jo Jorgensen/Spike Cohen; and 20 chose a write-in.

For the Indiana Governor/Lieutenant Governor race, 7,270 voted for Republicans Eric Holcomb/Suzanne Crouch; 2,455 voted for Democrats Woodrow Myers/Linda Lawson; and 926 voted for Libertarians Donald Rainwater II/William Henry.

Spencer County voters chose Republican Todd Rokita in the Indiana Attorney General race with 6,136 votes; 4,308 voters chose Democrat Jonathan Weinzapfel.

In the U.S. Representative District 8 race, Spencer County voters chose incumbent Republican Larry D. Bucshon with 4,320 votes; Democrat E. Thomasina Marsili received 2,222 votes, Libertarian James D. Rodenberger received 111 votes and there was one write-in.

For State Representative District 75, Republican Cindy Ledbetter received 2,911 votes and Democrat John Hurley 2,558 votes.

Democrat Jon A. Dartt won the 84th Circuit Court Judge seat with 6,475 votes to Republican Victor Ippoliti's 4,238 votes.

Incumbent Democrat Sara J. Arnold was defeated in the Spencer County Clerk race. She received 4,742 votes to Republican Darrell (Heavy) Stephens' 5,770 votes.

Incumbent Republican Vicki L. Brauns defeated Democrat Jon E. Wright in the County Recorder race. The vote totals were 7,598 to 2,929.

Republican Elaine Jones defeated Democrat Gay Ann Harney for County Treasurer, by a vote of 6,572 to 4,027.

Republican David (Red) Faulkenberg was elected County Surveyor, with 7,117 votes to Democrat John (Woody) Wood's 3,338 votes.

Republican Heather Gries defeated Democrat Thomas (Al) Logsdon in the County Commissioner District 2 race. The vote was 5,996 to 4,572. For County Commissioner District 3, Republican Thomas (Tom) Brown defeated Democrat Vince Luecke, 6,307 to 4,194.

Republicans Aaron Patrick Benton (5,037 votes), David J. Gogel (5,105 votes) and Brian E. Gruelich (4,911 votes) secured the three County Council At-Large seats up for grabs. Democrats Bob Compton received 3,580 votes, Frank Durbin Jr. 3,086 votes and Blake Voges 3,678 votes.

Janet Stoermer secured a seat on the South Spencer School Board - Luce Township against challenger Michael W. Harris. The vote was 2,396 to 1,404. Matthew (Matt) Bunner also secured a seat on the board for Ohio Township. His challenger was Michael Ray Shelton and the vote was 2,518 to 1,322.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com