Optimists recognize honor students

SANTA CLAUS — The Optimist Club of Santa Claus and Heritage Hills High School hosted the 47th annual academic banquet on March 18. The club annually sponsors the banquet, which recognizes the students ranked in the top 10 percent each grade.

A meal was served in the cafeteria for the honorees and their invited guests, followed by the awards ceremony in the high school auditorium.

The Heritage Hills Patriot Elite Choir, under the direction of Laura Staffeld, provided the entertainment. Makynsie Bancroft, senior class representative, and Optimist President Karleen Haas addressed the audience. Honored students received a certificate of recognition. Each senior representative received a plaque and then presented a framed certification of appreciation to an individiual chosen as a positive influence. The program concluded with the recitation of the Optimist Creed.

The students honored were:

Seniors: Makynsie Bancroft, Dylan Begle, Jenna Burns, Madison Hagedorn, Claire Heckel, Katelynn Myers, William Oliva, Amber Scott, Summer Skelton, Robert Tullis, Gracelyn Vaal, Madeleine Vinson, Marlee Vinson and Whitney Ward.

Juniors: Kaci Ayer, Murray Becher, Nicholas Brinkman, Madison Detzer, Wesley Fleischmann, Emma Eubank, Destinee Heneisen, Miranda Keller, Noah Mundy, Ethan Roos, Cole Sigler, Kiersten Schuler, Mallory Tempel and Hayley Waninger.

Sophomores: Nevah Barnett, Grant Gogel, Dylan Hagedorn, Trey Heckel, Rachel Martin, Kenley Mulzer, Sarah Mangan, Emily Patmore, Kyla Peter, Christopher Peter, Owen Rahman, Lindsey Roos, Abigail Ruxer and Erik Thomas.

Freshmen: Timothy Eubank, Liz Gehlhausen, Daniel Goodrich, Sophia Greenwood, Emma Haefling, Claire Lange, Chloe Johnson, Kameron Mills, Ella Schnieders, Shelby Skelton, Lauren Sisley, Owen Vinson, Hope Willard and Nathan Windell.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com