Nolan named District Trooper of the Year

From Local Sources


JASPER — Trooper Steven D. Nolan has been named the 2019 Indiana State Police Jasper District Trooper of the Year.

Post Commander Lt. Jason Allen recently announced the award bestowed annually to a district trooper who illustrates the department’s standards and expectations.

Allen said the three-year veteran’s performance and accomplishments during 2019 earned the recognition.

Nolan was nominated for the award by the Jasper District Command Team. During 2019, he concentrated his traffic and criminal enforcement efforts on impaired driving, drug enforcement and associated crimes, according to the Jasper Post.

During 2019, Nolan made 20 DUI arrests and 107 criminal arrests, most of which were drug- and/or alcohol-related. Nolan regularly assists the Martin and Daviess county sheriff’s departments and all local agencies with calls of service. He is currently assigned to the Martin and Daviess County squad and is a graduate of the 76th ISP Recruit School.

“Trooper Nolan sets an example for all of us in his professionalism whether in uniform or not,” Allen said. “Nolan takes great pride in representing the Indiana State Police and we are very proud to have him as a Trooper assigned to the Jasper Post.”

Nolan resides in Martin County with his family.

The Jasper post covers seven counties: Dubois, Spencer, Crawford, Daviess, Martin, Orange and Perry.

More on