Municipal races to be decided in General Election


The General Election for seats in municipalities will be held Tuesday.

Polling places will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday. And unlike early voting, which will end at noon today at the Dubois County Courthouse Annex, voters must go to their specific polling place to vote.

The voting locations by precinct are:

• Bainbridge 4N, 4S, 5N, 5S, 6N and 6S: Jasper Middle School, 3600 Portersville Road.

• Bainbridge 2E, 2W, 3E, 3W: National Guard Armory, 1481 Bartley St., Jasper.

• Bainbridge 1.1, 4N and 4S: Jasper Community Arts Center, 951 College Ave.

• Cass 1: Holland United Methodist Church, 205 N. Second Ave.

• Madison-Jasper North and Madison-Jasper South: St. Mary Community Center, 2829 N. County Road 500W.

• Ferdinand 1 and 2: Ferdinand Community Center, 1710 Community Drive.

• Patoka 1, 2, 3 and 4: Huntingburg Event Center, 110 E. 14th St.

Voters must bring a valid photo ID to cast a ballot.

The races

While most races are uncontested, there are some seats for which voters must choose a winner.


Jasper voters living in districts 3, 4, and 5 will have to choose candidates. In District 3, Democrat Daniel Kreilein and Republican Chad Lueken are looking to become the new councilman.


In District 4, Democratic incumbent Dave Hurst and Republican challenger Adrian Engelberth are seeking the seat.


And in District 5, Democratic incumbent Earl Schmitt and Republican challenger Paul Lorey are vying for the council position.


In Huntingburg’s council-at-large race, all city voters will select either Independent incumbent Tim Wehr or Republican challenger Keith “Curly” Souders as the winner.


Caption text here.

District 4 voters will choose either Independent Amber Wahl or Republican Jose Alfredo Dubon as their councilperson.


And in Ferdinand’s District 1 council race, Democratic incumbent Ken Sicard and Republican challenger Don Farina Sr. are both seeking the seat.

Races with only one candidate include:


Clerk-Treasurer: Democrat Tammy Miller

Council District 2: Democrat Debbie Johnson

Council District at large: Democrat Ron Weyer


Clerk-Treasurer: Republican Ray Schuetter

Council at large (two filed for three seats): Republicans Melanie Barrett and Tom Thacker


Mayor: Republican Denny Spinner

Clerk-Treasurer: Democrat Tom Dippel

Council District 1: Republican Glen Kissling

Council District 2: Republican Jeff Bounds

Council District 3: Republican Steve McPherron


Mayor: Republican Dean Vonderheide

Clerk-Treasurer: Democrat Allen Seifert

Council District 2: Democrat John Schroeder

Council District 6: Republican Kevin Manley

Council at large (two filed for two seats): Republicans Nancy Eckerle and Phil Mundy

As a reminder for voters planning to choose a straight-party ticket: that does not select candidates for at-large seats. Selections for at-large candidates must be made individually to be counted on the voter’s ballot.

Clerk Amy Kippenbrock reported that as of Saturday afternoon, 914 Dubois County voters cast early ballots.

More on