Mentors for Youth adds new board members

By Herald Staff

Mentors for Youth has added two new board members, Rachel Miller and Emily Uebelhor, effective Jan. 1, 2021.

Miller grew up in Ferdinand and graduated from Forest Park High School in 2013. She then went to the University Of Southern Indiana and graduated with a bachelor's degree in accounting and finance in 2016. Miller works as a credit analyst for Springs Valley Banks & Trust.

Miller joined the board because she has really enjoyed the program as a mentor and hopes to get others involved.

“I believe the program is a great opportunity to get involved in our small community,” Miller said. “I can now support and grow the program even more as a board member."

Uebelhor grew up in Jasper and graduated from Jasper High School in 2014. She then went on to Indiana University and graduated with an elementary and special education degree in 2018. She is currently teaching pre-K at Holy Trinity Catholic School.

Uebelhor is currently a mentor through the Mentors for Youth program and has witnessed what a great impact the program has on our youth.

“I wanted to join the board because I believe it is an outstanding program and I want to continue to watch it grow,” Uebelhor sayid.

Effective Jan. 1, 2021 the Mentors for Youth Board will consist of the following members: Kristin Braun, president; Kelsey Menke, vice president; Brent Pfister, treasurer; Sarah Blackgrave, secretary; Scott Franzel; Brittany McMahon; Donna Hopkins; Molly Jahn; Rachel Miller; and Emily Uebelhor.

Mentors for Youth is dedicated to facilitating mutually beneficial relationships between youth and volunteers for the purpose of enhancing individual lives and the community. The organization has been serving Dubois County for over 30 years, matching children with responsible adults for one-on-one mentoring.

Questions or inquiries may be directed to Ellen Corn at 812-482-2227.

More on