Meeting: Southwest Dubois Schools

The Southwest Dubois School Board met Thursday and:

• Congratulated Southridge High School juniors Jaffet Cruz, Audra Hochgesang, Evalyn Sherer and Grace Sickbert as recipients of the Indiana Association of School Principals Rising Stars of Indiana Award. The program recognizes high school juniors for outstanding academic achievement.

• Recognized high school teacher Leigh Lambert-Neu who presented “Digital Learner Interactions: The Work of Online Community Building Via Groups in Graduate Courses” with a group of Indiana University faculty at the University of Louisville Watson Conference in October.

• Thanked The Herald Endowment for Literacy at the Dubois County Community Foundation for $150 donations to each of the corporation’s libraries and the Holland Kiwanis for a $500 donation to the school’s Backpack Buddies program.

• Heard that the bus drivers will have behavior management training in the second semester as a professional development activity.

• Heard an update on the possibility of stop-arm cameras for the corporation’s 18 school buses. Installing the cameras would run between $35,910 and $40,500. Having the cameras could allow the county prosecutor to prosecute cases involving drivers running stop arms by providing facial recognition. Right now, bus drivers take the license plate number of cars that run the stop arm, radio them to the school, and the school notifies police. Police will then ticket drivers. Transportation Director Kelly Murphy told the board he spoke to the North Spencer School Corporation, which has stop-arm cameras. He was told that the cameras don’t always get facial recognition, and North Spencer had no data on if the cameras decreased the number of stop-arm violations. So far, Southwest Dubois has had seven stop-arm violations this year.

• Heard that the Huntingburg Police Department will use the high school for physical agility testing on Saturday; Alpha Delta Kappa Sorority Inc. will use a high school classroom for a monthly meeting in January; Girl Scout Troop 433 will hold meetings at Huntingburg Elementary School on the first and third Thursdays of the month through May 2019; and the Indiana Elite Fastpitch Softball will hold practices at corporation facilities through December 2019.

• Heard that the 2019 eighth grade Washington, D.C. trip was rescheduled to Sept. 3-7.

• Approved several overnight trips for competitions for the high school wrestling team.

• Approved the following resignations: instructional assistants Tiffany Welborn and Jennifer Murphy at Huntingburg Elementary; instructional assistants Lisa White and Whitney Keown at Holland Elementary; and special needs assistant Sandy Gregson and cheer coach Sarah Bardwell at the high school.

• Approved the following new hires: Student Council co-sponsors Jessica Lechner and Keshia Matthews and girls basketball volunteer Ashley Blessinger at Holland Elementary; cheer sponsor Tina Fetter, Student Council sponsor Jennifer Underhill and cheer volunteer Amber Hiter at Huntingburg Elementary; wrestling volunteer Austin Kane at Southridge Middle School; and musical/drama choreographer Molly Rupert, boys track coaches Ted O’Brien and Cody Thompson, swim volunteer Ellie Langebrake, athletic department volunteer Blake Broeker, wrestling volunteer Bryce Jones, choir/musical theater volunteer Andrew Hoffman and musical set design volunteer Nichola Waninger at the high school.

• Approved Indiana State University education student Katelyn Kendall to complete her music education student teaching with Kim Wirthwein at Holland Elementary in the spring semester.

• Approved changes to corporation policy regarding incentive pay for teachers to earn master’s degrees.

• Approved a wrap-around service agreement with LifeSpring Health Systems, the former Southern Hills Counseling Center. The agreement helps the corporation serve at-risk students with counseling service.

• Approved the countywide school calendar for 2019-20.

• Approved the administrators to apply for grants as they come up through 2019.

• Approved nine high school students for early graduation. Eight will graduate at the end of the month, and one will graduate a year early in May.

• Approved moving the January meeting to 6 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 10 at the corporation office, 119 N. Jackson St., Huntingburg.

• Thanked Board President Chris Neu for eight years of service to the board. Thursday was Neu’s final board meeting as he did not seek re-election in 2018.

More on