Meeting: Otwell Miller Academy

The Otwell Miller Academy School Board met Monday and:

• Welcomed Jordan Hill and Sherryl Osgatharp to the board. They are appointments from the Friends of Otwell group. The board is now a seven-member board.

• Elected officers for the year. Hill was elected president, Lou Fort was elected vice president, Jenny Byrd was elected secretary and Osgatharp was elected treasurer.

• Discussed adding two teacher aides to the staff due to higher class sizes. School enrollment jumped from 60 to 88 students this year.

• Heard that progress with the cafeteria and playground projects are going well.

• Tabled a recommendation for a salary increase for office staff. Teachers did receive a pay increase for this school year.

• Approved the school safety plan.

• Approved hiring a school nurse.

• Approved the budget for the 2018-19 school year. The school is not required to advertise or publish its budget like other schools because as a charter school, Otwell Miller Academy does not receive local tax dollars.

• Heard that the school is working to get lunch service at the school. For now, students need to bring their own lunches.

• Announced an anniversary celebration for the school on Tuesday, Aug. 28. The celebration includes a community open house from 4 to 6 p.m. at the school, 9958 E. County Road 150 North, Otwell.

More on