Meet the candidates in the 2018 election

Bill Powell/The Herald
Jasper High School senior Zach Rydberg enters the Dubois County Courthouse Annex to cast his vote Friday. He is among the more than 3,000 county voters who have already visited an early voting location this year, which is a higher than normal turnout for a midterm election.

From Local Sources

Dubois County voters will help decide the fate of several federal, state, county and school board races on the ballot this Election Day, which is Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Voters will decide from among three candidates for the U.S. Senate, and two for U.S. Representative District 8.

Three candidates are vying for Indiana Secretary of State and Auditor of State, and two candidates are on the ballot for Treasurer of State.

Also on the ballot is State Senate District 47, State Representative District 63 and State Representative District 74.

Contested Dubois County races include: Clerk; Recorder; Sheriff; Assessor; Council, District 2; and Council, District 3.

Local races include three seats on the Cass Township Advisory Board, the Madison and Patoka township trustees and three seats on the Birdseye Town Council.

Greater Jasper School Board District 1 and Southwest Dubois School Board District 3 will also be on the ballot.

The ballot will also include three public questions for Dubois County voters.

Public Question 1 will present voters with an amendment to the Indiana Constitution.

On the ballot, it will say, “Shall Article 10, Section 5 of the constitution of the State of Indiana be amended to require the General Assembly to adopt balanced budgets for state government that do not exceed estimated revenues unless a supermajority of two-thirds of the members of the House of Representatives and two-thirds of the members of the Senate vote to suspend the requirement?” Voters will choose “Yes” or “No.’

Another question will ask about judge retention in the court of appeals: “Shall Judge Robert R. (Bob) Altice, Jr. be retained in office?”

A third question will ask about Supreme Court justice retention: “Shall Justice Geoffrey G. Slaughter be retained in office?”

Polls will open at 6 a.m. on Tuesday and will close at 6 p.m. Find your Election Day polling place and who’s on your ballot at

Several polling locations across the county are also open this week for early voting.

If you are a registered voter in Dubois County, you may vote early at any of these locations:

Dubois County Courthouse Annex, 602 Main St., Jasper

Today, Thursday and Friday: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Wednesday: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Saturday: 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Monday: 8 a.m. to noon

35th Street Fire Station, 118 35th St., Jasper

Today through Friday: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Saturday: 8 a.m. to noon

Huntingburg Event Center
, 200 E. 14th St.

Saturday: 8 a.m. to noon

Ferdinand Library, 112 E. 16th St.

Saturday: 8 a.m. to noon

Dubois Library, 5506 E. Main St.

Thursday: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Saturday: 8 a.m. to noon

Birdseye Fire Station
, 9 W. First St.

Friday: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Saturday: 8 a.m. to noon

Haysville Fire Station, 177 W. State Road 56

Today: until 6 p.m.

Schnellville Fire Station, 8090 E. Schnellville Road

Wednesday: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.


Read about your local candidates below:


U.S. Senate (Mike Braun / Lucy Brenton / Joe Donnelly)

District 8 U.S. Representative (Larry Bucshon / William Tanoos)

Indiana Senate 47 (Erin Houchin / Nick Siler)

Indiana House 63 (Joe Lannan / Shane Lindauer)

Indiana House 74 (Steve Bartels / Larry Kleeman)

Dubois County Sheriff (Tom Kleinhelter / Tim Lampert)

Dubois County Clerk (Amy Kippenbrock / Kiersten Knies)

Dubois County Recorder (Jackie McPherron / Gail Reutman)

Dubois County Assessor (Eve Drew / Angie Giesler)

Dubois County Council District 2 (Becky Beckman / Darren Patterson)

Dubois County Council District 3 (Charmain Klem / Deborah Major)

Birdseye Town Council (Mary Ann Cummings / Bret Eckert / Lisa Huff / Roy Partenheimer)

Cass Township Advisory Board (Lee Bilderback / Randy Boehm / Steve Eckert / Lisa Matthews)

Patoka Township Trustee (Don Astrike / Jeff Summers)

Madison Township Trustee (Scott Blazey / Brett Collignon)

Southwest Dubois School Board (Jason Heile / Belinda Lange)

Greater Jasper School Board (Jimmy Corbin / Ken Schnaus)

Spencer County Roundup


More on