McIntyre named DNR District 7’s top officer

From Local Sources


Indiana Department of Natural Resources Conservation Officer Ryan McIntyre, who is assigned to Gibson County, has been named the 2019 District 7 Officer of the Year.

District 7 is a 10-county district covering Dubois, Spencer, Pike, Daviess, Gibson, Martin, Perry, Posey, Vanderburgh and Warrick counties.

McIntyre, who was raised in Gibson County, has been a conservation officer for seven years. He serves the division as a certified breath test operator, National Archery in the Schools instructor and public information officer.

The law enforcement division of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources has 10 districts statewide. Each selects an officer of the year by a vote of the district’s officers. Winners are then in the running for a statewide version of the award, called the Pitzer Award.

Indiana conservation officer James D. Pitzer was shot in the line of duty in January 1961, and died as a result of his wounds. The director of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources will select the winner of the award named after him.

More on