Locals make way onto All-District list

Photo by Marlena Sloss/The Herald
Jasper's Jackson Kabrick has garnered earned honors as part of the All-District 2 team this season.

From Herald Staff Reports

Five local boys basketball players have earned recognition on the Hoosier Basketball Coaches Association All-District Team.

Jasper’s Jackson Kabrick, Northeast Dubois’ Reece Bauer and a trio of Hertiage Hills players: Murray Becher, Simon Scherry and Cole Sigler received honors in District 2 as among the best senior basketball players in Southern Indiana.

Kabrick helped lead the Wildcats to nine straight victories earlier this season. Jasper is currently winners of four games in a row and will look to end the regular season on a high note with its fifth win in a row Thursday at North Daviess. Kabrick has had his moments this season, helping secure escapes Jan. 3 and Jan. 31 against Evansville Central and Northeast Dubois, respectively, with some clutch free throw shooting. He also propelled the way Feb. 11 as the Wildcats downed Evansville Mater Dei behind Kabrick’s 3o-point performance. Kabrick and the rest of the Wildcats will look next week to repeat as sectional champions.

Bauer has had a senior season to remember, scoring his 1,000th career point Jan. 4 against Evansville Day. His 75-foot buzzer won knocked off Paoli, 52-49, Jan. 17. He also became the Jeeps’ all-time leading boys scorer this season, breaking Dustin Wolf’s record at Jasper. Bauer still has time to tack onto that Thursday when the Jeeps host Tecumseh for their regular season finale.

Becher, Scherry and Sigler have all played their part in Heritage Hills winning 13 games in a row. Becher and Scherry are putting the icing on two record-breaking careers at Heritage Hills, while Sigler has served as a starter for the Pats this year.

Photo by Marlena Sloss/The Herald
Being named All-District is just the latest in a series of accomplishments Northeast Dubois senior Reece Bauer has enjoyed this season.

Becher became the all-time leading boys scorer Dec. 21 against Mount Vernon. His scoring prowess continued, breaking the school record Jan. 17 at Pike Central and he surpassed Roger Kaiser’s North Spencer scoring record Feb. 6 against Boonville. The North Spencer scoring record had previously stood for more than 60 years. He can also surpass the career free throws record for the Patriots.

Scherry has also received multiple commemorative basketballs for his achievements this season. He became the career assists leader Jan. 31 at Evansville Mater Dei, and scored his 1,000th point Feb. 8 at Jasper. He had 16 helpers Feb. 14 against Forest Park to set a new single game record, and Scherry is also closing in on the single season assists record.

The following is the complete list of All-District teams.

District 1

Anthony Leal, Bloomington South

Cade Byran, Northview

Grant Niehaus, Washington

Jack Townsend, North Daviess

Justin Fickling, South Knox

Keegan O’Neill, Barr-Reeve

Kevin Palmer, Sullivan

Noah Jager, Bloomington South

Sean Roberts, West Vigo

Turner Royal, Bloomfield

Photo by Marlena Sloss/The Herald
Murray Becher has had a record-breaking career at Heritage Hills, and is a an All-District 2 selection.

District 2

Jackson Kabrick, Jasper

Reece Bauer, Northeast Dubois

Murray Becher, Heritage Hills

Simon Scherry, Heritage Hills

Cole Sigler, Heritage Hills

Jackson Hiester, Evansville Mater Dei

Tyler Phelps, Evansville Mater Dei

Mar’Quon Givens, Evansville Reitz

Mason Bost, Evansville Harrison

Josiah Ricketts, North Posey

District 3

Andrew Welage, Greensburg

Casper Clark, Columbus North

Colt Meyer, Batesville

Dominic Walters, South Decatur

Ethan Smith, Connersville

Gavin Yoon, Lawrenceburg

Jacob Brown, Connersville

Miles Wilkison, Greensburg

Nicholas Schiavello, Columbus North

Trevor Becker, East Central

Photo by Kayla Renie/The Herald
It's been one accomplishment after another for Heritage Hills' Simon Scherry, who is an All-District 2 player.

District 4

Connor Nolot, Lanesville

Damian Breeck, Switzerland County

Dylan Patterson, South Central

Isaiah Wineinger, Brownstown Central

Julien Hunter, New Albany

Myron Mead, Salem

Nicholas Sebastiao, Scottsburg

Parker Sullivan, Paoli

Trey Hargrave, Austin

Trey Hourigan, New Albany

Tripp Dillion III, Lanesville

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com