Local schools named Four Star

From Local Sources

INDIANAPOLIS —The Indiana Department of Education announced Friday the schools across the state that received the Four Star School Award for the 2017-18 school year.

Local schools named Four Star are: Jasper High School; Forest Park Junior-Senior High School; Ferdinand Elementary School; Holland Elementary School; Heritage Hills High School; Heritage Hills Middle School; and Lincoln Trail Elementary.

Jasper High School, Ferdinand Elementary, Holland Elementary, Heritage Hills high and middle schools and Lincoln Trail Elementary also earned the designation for the 2016-17 school year.

To win the award, schools must receive an A on the state’s A-F accountability system, have excellent ISTEP pass rates and show success in closing achievement gaps. High schools must also show high graduation rates. A total of 238 schools received the award.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com