Local players on Bomber roster

HUNTINGBURG — Dubois County Bombers second-year manager Wes Fink, and director of player personnel Mark Peters have announced a 30-player roster that includes four local collegiate players. Included in the bunch and returning from last year’s team is infielder Dane Giesler, a Jasper High School graduate and sophomore at Wabash Valley Junior College. Joining Giesler is cousin Mark Giesler, a pitcher/infielder, and utility player/pitcher Nick Gobert. Both are 2013 JHS graduates and current freshmen at Dayton University. Also added to the Bombers roster is Tirey Burch, an infielder from Ohio University who played high school ball at Heritage Hills.

“We are excited to have these four talented players who were recommended by their respective college coaches to play this summer for the Bombers. When you add this group of area players along with four from the University of Evansville, four from Murray State, three each from Owens Valley Community College and Lindsey Wilson Junior College, along with two from Savannah State, our roster is full of talented players from throughout the Midwest and beyond,” Fink said in a statement. “Having a full roster this early is really an advantage over the late start we had last year. The quality players we were able to sign early this upcoming season should make us very competitive in the Ohio Valley League.”

Here is the roster for the 2014 Dubois County Bombers baseball team; players listed with position, current school and hometown:

Brian Page, RHP (Anderson University; New Palestine, Ind.)
Brian Wichman, LHP (Murray State University; Columbus, Ind.)
William Hunter Johnson, RHP/1B (Murray State University; Louisville, Ky.)
Brandon Hicks, RHP (Murray State University; Collierville, Tenn.)
Lucas Barnett, RHP (Lee University; Sellersburg, Ind.)
Devin Williams, RHP (Olney Central; Evansville, Ind.)                
Braden Richardson, RHP (Earlham College; Richmond, Ind.)         
Johnathan Williams, RHP (St. Joseph’s College; Bowling Green, Ky.)      
Ben Breymier, C/1B (Owens Community College; Indianapolis, Ind.)                
Parker Little, RHP (Owens Community College; West Columbia, S.C.)
Dru Sebastian, RHP (Owens Community College; Fort Wayne, Ind.)              
Keith Patton, RHP (Lindsey Wilson College; Poseyville, Ind.)
Jacob Roberts, 2B/SS/3B (Lindsey Wilson College; Owensboro, Ky.)        
Brandon “Russ” Morse, C/1B/3B (Lindsey Wilson College; Radcliff, Ky.)    
DJ Eckert, RHP (St. Joseph’s College; Danville, Ind.)                         
Rick Linton, C (Murray State University; Muncie, Ind.)                     
Aaron Pearcy, RHP (Lindsey WIlson College; Louisville, Ky.)                
Caleb Lonkard, SS/2B (Northern Kentucky University; Union, Ky.)              
Dane Giesler, 3B/1B (Wabash Valley College; Jasper, Ind.)               
Devin Bafia, LHP/INF (University of Evansville; Valparaiso, Ind.)
Joe Redburn, MIF (University of Evansville; Newburgh, Ind.)
Brandon Kelley, RHP/MIF (University of Evansville; Evansville, Ind.)
Eric McKibbon, OF/1B (University of Evansville; Indianapolis, Ind.)
Nick Gobert, IF/RHP/C (University of Dayton; Jasper, Ind.)
Mark Giesler, RHP/1B (University of Dayton; Jasper, Ind.)
Hector Benitz-Burgos, OF (Savannah State University; Pooler, Ga.)
Jacob Lightle, SS/2B (Savannah State University; Savannah, Ga.)
Nicholas Barrientos, OF (Danville Community College; Zionsville, Ind.)
Tirey Burch, OF (Ohio University; Santa Claus, Ind.)

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com