Local legislators receive committee assignments


State legislators representing Dubois County have received their assignments for committees they will serve on during the 2019 legislative session.

Committees review various proposed bills and determine if they will be passed to the full chamber for approval. The House and Senate each have their own set of committees.

In the Indiana House of Representatives, State Rep. Shane Lindauer, R-Jasper, will serve as vice chairman of the Public Health Committee.

“The public health committee will look at legislation addressing Indiana’s statewide public health concerns, like the treatment of opioid addiction,” he said in a press release. “Serving on a variety of committees will give me the opportunity to work closely on many proposed laws affecting our community and state.”

Lindauer has also been assigned to the Family, Children and Human Affairs Committee, Natural Resources Committee and Roads and Transportation Committee.

In January, Lindauer will start his first full term as the representative of District 63, which includes Bainbridge, Boone, Columbia, Hall, Harbison, Madison and Marion townships in Dubois County and parts of Pike, Daviess and Martin counties.

State Rep. Stephen Bartels, R-Eckerty, will be vice chairman of the Agriculture and Rural Development Committee. He will also serve on the Courts and Criminal Code Committee and the Veterans Affairs and Public Safety Committee.

Bartels will start his first full term as District 74’s representative. The district includes Cass, Ferdinand, Jackson, Jefferson and Patoka townships in Dubois County, portions of Spencer and Orange counties and all of Perry and Crawford counties.

In the Indiana Senate, State Sen. Mark Messmer, R-Jasper, has been appointed chairman of the Environmental Affairs Committee and the Joint Rules Committee. He has also been named ranking member of the Rules and Legislative Procedure Committee and member of the Public Policy Committee and the Tax and Fiscal Policy Committee. The ranking member of a committee runs a meeting if the committee chairperson is not in attendance.

Messmer has also been named majority floor leader on the Indiana Senate Republican’s leadership team.

Messmer represents District 48, which covers Bainbridge, Boone, Cass, Madison and Patoka townships in Dubois County, all of Spencer and Pike counties and portions of Warrick, Gibson and Knox counties.

State Sen. Erin Houchin, R-Salem, has been named ranking member of the Tax and Fiscal Policy Committee. She has also been assigned to the Elections Committee, the Family and Children Services Committee and the Utilities Committee.

Houchin represents District 47, which encompasses Columbia, Ferdinand, Hall, Harbison, Jackson, Jefferson and Marion townships in Dubois County and all of Crawford, Orange, Perry, Harrison and Washington counties.

Committee meetings are held at the Indiana Statehouse during the legislative session. The 2019 session will start Jan. 3.

The meetings are open to the public, and can be viewed online at the Indiana General Assembly’s website, www.iga.in.gov. Agendas and calendars for the chamber sessions and committee meetings can also be found on the website.

A legislative session preview will be held at 11:30 a.m. Tuesday at the Vincennes University Jasper Campus‘ CTIM building. The Jasper Chamber of Commerce has invited Bartels, Houchin, Lindauer and Messmer to the 90-minute lunch to discuss what they believe the upcoming session will entail. The event costs $20 to attend and includes lunch. To RSVP, contact the Chamber at 812-482-6866 or at chamber@jasperin.org.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com