Jasper VFW Post 673 Auxiliary

Jasper VFW Post 673 Auxiliary held its regular monthly meeting on April 21, 2021, at the post home. President Carrie Vonderheide called the meeting to order and conducted opening ceremonies. In absence of the Chaplain, President Vonderheide gave the opening prayer. The Pledge of Allegiance was said by all.

The Secretary reports that there are two petitions for new membership this month. The Investigating Committee found the petitions to be in order. A voice vote was taken, and there was a unanimous decision to accept the new member petitions.

Minutes of the previous meeting were dispensed by the secretary and approved as read.

General Orders #11 from VFW Auxiliary Dept. of Indiana were read and filed for reference. There was also a letter of greetings from Dept. of Indiana President, Anna Mauk.

In absence of the treasurer, the secretary read the monthly financial reports for March 2021. The report was filed subject to audit.

On the business of the National Home for Children, our auxiliary’s donation has been acknowledged and appreciated. The National Home’s commitment is to honor our nation’s veterans and active-duty military by providing help and hope for their children and families.

On the business of the Patriots Through Literacy program, seven schools have been contacted and are reviewing a list of available books. Each school will receive a donation of two books from Auxiliary 673. The goal of this project is getting historical fiction and creative non-fiction books into hands of students, which promotes patriotism and literacy in addition to encouraging empathy and broadening perspectives.

Flowers for the outdoor planters located at the post’s entrance have been ordered from two local school fundraisers.

Election of officers was held, and the officers duly elected for the ensuing year are: President Carrie Vonderheide; Sr. Vice Marsha Opel; Jr. Vice Jane Vogler; Treasurer Diane Brescher; Chaplain & Patriotic Instructor Linda Reuber; Guard Rose Beck; Conductress Bev Schnell; Trustees Kathy Kluemper, Jane Vogler, and Jane Schaeffer. President Vonderheide reappointed Connie Thewes as Secretary. Induction of officers will be held at the May meeting.

Closing ceremonies were conducted in accordance with the ritual. The meeting was closed with prayer by President Vonderheide, after which the meeting was adjourned.

The next meeting will be May 19 at 6:30 p.m. at the Jasper post, 3131 Newton St. All members are encouraged to attend.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com