Jasper recognized for SIAC Celebration of Champions

By Herald Staff

Ross Peter and his Jasper baseball teammates came away with the Class 4A State Championship June 22, and the Southern Indiana Athletic Conference recognized Peter, the Bob Gardner Mental Attitude Award recipient, and the Wildcats, at its Banterra Bank SIAC 12th Annual Celebration of Champions.

There was no in person banquet this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, so the winners were announced in a press release.  

The SIAC named Evansville Memorial's Ryleigh Anslinger as its 2021 Banterra Bank Outstanding Female SIAC Athlete of the Year. Castle's Isaiah Swope and Memorial's Colton Pence shared this honor on the male side.

The SIAC recognized its state champions and Mental Attitude Award recipients.

Jasper Baseball, 2021 Class 4A State Champions

Ross Peter, Jasper, Class 4A Baseball Bob Gardner Mental Attitude Award

Evansville North Girls Golf, 2020 State Champions

Evansville Memorial Boys Soccer, Class 2A State Champions

Garland Hall, Evansville Memorial, 2020 Class 2A Boys Soccer C. Eugene Cato Mental Attitude Award

Castle Boys Soccer, Class 3A Boys Soccer State Runner-Up

Evansville Mater Dei Wrestling, 2021 Team State Champions

Broderick Baumann, Evansville Mater Dei, 2021 State Champion, 160-LBS

Gabriel Sollard, Evansville Mater Dei, 2021 State Champion, 182-LBS

Abigail Myers, Margo Thoop, Evansville Memorial, Girls State Tennis Doubles Champions

2020-21 SIAC All-Sports Award (Top Five Schools)

1. Castle

2. Jasper

3. Evansville North

4. Evansville Memorial

5. Evansville Reitz

Jeeps to hold golf scramble

Northeast Dubois is having its 13th Annual Jeep Athletic Booster Golf Scramble at 1 p.m. Aug. 21 at Lucas Oil Golf course in English. It will be a four person scramble, $60 per player with a $5 mulligan and prize drawing ticket.

Teams will be handicapped and limited to 28 teams. Each player is asked to turn in their handicap or average 18 hole score when entering their team. 

Prizes will be given away, including drawings for all golfers, the top five teams, closest to the pin on Par 3s and the longest putts on four holes.

The deadline to enter is Aug. 12. Contact Terry Friedman at 8-12-630-1699 or email an entry to tfriedman@neddubois.k12.in.us. 

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com