Jasper High School graduates 255


JASPER — Jasper High School graduated 255 in the Class of 2020 this month when e-learning came to an end on May 14. The school hopes to hold a commencement ceremony at 6:30 p.m. Friday, July 24, in the high school gym, pending local, state and federal COVID-19 guidelines.

The valedictorian is Anna Kidwell.

The salutatorian is Carson Park.

Kidwell is the daughter of Dr. Randall and Cindy (Cummins) Norris of Jasper and Jay and Jill (Linette) Kidwell of Jasper. Her favorite activities while at JHS were YoungLife, being a WyldLife leader, Student Council, Key Club, National Honor Society and Earth Club. She was president of Key Club and vice president of Earth Club. The awards she’s most proud of are being a National Merit Scholar, winning at the post and district levels for the American Legion’s Americanism and Government Testing Program her sophomore and junior years, being named an Indiana Rising Star her junior year, being a Hoosier Girls State delegate and winning the Mental Attitude award in cross county her junior year.

She plans to attend Saint Louis University in St. Louis to study neuroscience on the pre-med track with the Saint Louis University Medical Scholars program. She received the National Merit Saint Louis University scholarship and Saint Louis University’s Vice Presidents’ scholarship.

Park is the son of Michael and Stephanie (Snyder) Park of Jasper. While at JHS, he played on the varsity football team, and ran Unified Track and Field. He has been a member of the Boy Scouts, National Honor Society and Key Club. He was president of National Honor Society and vice president of Key Club. The awards he’s most proud of are the WITZ/McDonald’s of Dubois County Player of the Year, the Indianapolis Colts Academic All-Star Team, being named a finalist for the National Merit Scholar program, becoming an Eagle Scout and being elected captain of the varsity football team.

He plans to attend Washington University in St. Louis where he will play football and major in mathematics on the pre-med track. He received the Jasper Football Booster Club scholarship, the MasterBrand Cabinets scholarship, the Steven M. Seger Memorial scholarship and the Betty J. Hoffman scholarship from Memorial Hospital and Health Care Center in conjunction with the Health Occupations Students of America program.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com