Jasper girls basketball team hands out awards

JASPER — The Jasper High School girls basketball team doled out several awards at the team’s postseason banquet Thursday.

On the varsity team, Claire Knies was named MVP and was recognized for making the All-Big Eight Conference team. Knies also collected the award for most rebounds and shared the Outstanding Offensive Player Award with Brooke Nottingham. Other honors went to Maria Gobert (Outstanding Defensive Player Award, Most Improved Award, best field goal percentage, best free throw percentage), Kathryn Wigand (best 3-point percentage), Anna Charron (most steals), Madisyn Hunt (most assists) and Lindsey Leinenbach (Mental Attitude Award).

For the JV squad, awards went to Kortney Ruhe (highest scoring average, most assists), Reagan Egbert (most defensive rebounds, most steals), Rachel Gress (best field goal percentage, most offensive rebounds), Rylee Hedinger (Outstanding Defensive Player, best free throw percentage) and Hallie Leinenbach (best 3-point percentage).

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com