Jasper Elementary names spelling bee winners

By Herald Staff

Dalylah Lauer, Spelling Bee Champion
Koen Betz, Spelling Bee Runner-up

JASPER — On March 19, Jasper Elementary School conducted the first ever Spelling Bee. Each fifth grade classroom had an internal competition to determine their top two spellers who would be eligible for the school-wide competition. The following students won this honor through their individual classroom competition: Koen Betz, Lainee Blome, Jayden Head, Benny Jones, Quinten Knies, Kimmy Lam, Dalylah Lauer, Connor Perkins, Hayzel Posada Garcia, Olivia Rice, Augie Simmers and Reese Weisheit.

After an intense competition, a Spelling Bee champion and runner-up were identified. Dalylah Lauer from Mrs. Jasper's class and Koen Betz from Mrs. Buechlein's class became Jasper Elementary School's champion and runner-up, respectively. Dalylah is the daughter of Terra Marshall. Koen is the son of Shawn Betz and Kari Carnahan.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com