Ireland announces St. Patty's fest winners

During Ireland's St. Patrick's Day celebration, Celeste Hochgesang of Ireland watched ping pong balls drop from the tractor plow outside of Ireland Elementary School on Saturday afternoon. (Marlena Sloss/The Herald)


IRELAND — The St. Patrick’s Celebration winners have been announced. The event was held earlier this month in Ireland.



Women’s pie: first, Frannie Leinenbach; and second, Betty Schmitt.

Men’s pie: first, Ron Otto; and second, Keith Eckert.

Cookies and bars: first, Carol Schmitt; and second, Claire Linette.

Cakes and cupcakes: first, Martha Jane Tucker; and second, Mary Ann Weisheit.


Button design

Winner: Katelyn Sander.



Elementary division: Tossin’ Spuds with Jack Gudorf, Tyler Sinnott, Connor Klem, Joe Heichelbech, Makenzie Buchta and Allie Knies.

Middle school division: Hillbillies with Landon Seitz, Grant Mehringer, Clayton Seitz, Clay Fuhrman, Shayla Sander, Hadley Fuhrman and Reece Schnaus.

Adult division: Rubber Chuckers with Brandon Bayer, Luke Sermersheim, Alex Allen, Audrey Schitter, Noah McCain and Olivia Burger.


Duck race

Heat 1: Sharon Heaton.

Heat 2: Brandy Michali.

Heat 3: Cash Gehlhausen.


Home lighting

Winners: first, Junie and Dorothy Wigand; second, David and Angie Rudolph; and third, Frannie Leinenbach.


Irish Trot 5K

Overall winners male: Jace Brescher. Female:  Jill Reisz.

Male —  age 19 and under: Trevor Buechler. Ages 20 to 29: Jon Baglan. Ages 30 to 39: Kyle Jahn. Ages 40 to 49: Tony Brinkman. Ages 50 to 59: Michael Kern. Ages 60 to 69: John Birge. Age 70 and over: Leo Striegel.

Female — age 19 and under: Laci Schwenk. Ages 20 to 29: Lydia Shepherd. Ages 30 to 39: Cassie Heile. Ages 40 to 49: Denise Buechlein. Ages 50 to 59: Rita Uebelhor.          


Irish I Win ball drop

Winner: Anita Lemond.


Little Miss

Miss Shamrock: Ella Leinenbach, daughter of Ben and Christa Leinenbach.

First runner-up: Sophie Schnarr, daughter of Nick and Brooklyn Schnarr.


Luck O’ the Pub

Best dressed: Burr Oaks Hoppers.

Best decorated vehicle: Casual Spankers.

DD grand prize: Michael Conrad.

Luck O’ The Pub run: Drink Like A Jarboe.



Floats: first, Tim Lampert for Sheriff; second, Amy Kippenbrock for County Clerk; third, Community of Celestine; and third, Leed Samples & Fulfillment.

Walkers: first, North Dubois Girl Scouts; and The Ivy Manor, second.

Vehicles with walkers: first, Hutson’s; second, German American; third, Kiersten Knies for County Clerk; fourth, Hulsman Electric; and fifth, Southern Indiana Leathernecks.

Antique vehicles: first, Jan C. Hollis and St. Patrick’s Celebration Inc.

Horses: first, Belles & Beaus.

Best Irish theme: first, Leed Samples & Fulfillment.

Most enthusiastic: first, The Ivy Manor.


Photo contest

Winners: first, Leo Schmitt, son of Nick and Angela Schmitt; second, Rilynn Brosmer, daughter of Bill and Marissa Brosmer; and third, Juliet Miller, daughter of Randy and Alleisha Miller.


Mayors for a Day

Recipients: Rich and Betty Edwards.


Paddy Whack

Winners: first, Karen Pieper; second, Mark Brescher; third, Ed Mehringer; and fourth, Jason Pieper.


Slider contest

Beef burger: first, Team Taber with Mike Taber and Stacy Taber; and second, Knight Out with Jesse Bachman and Matt Fleck.

Open burger: first, W.C. Steakhouse with Pete Oswalt, Zac Guthrie (pork); and second, Knight Out with Jesse Bachman and Matt Fleck (turkey).

People’s choice award: Knight Out with Jesse Bachman and Matt Fleck.


Spud shoot

Adult: first, Matt Bueltel; and second, Braeden Senninger.

Youth: first, Kyler Lyons; and second, Ella Leinenbach.





More on