Hospitality, scholarship winners named

The Southwestern Indiana Officials Association recently named Forest Park, Southridge, Loogootee and North Knox high schools the winners of their hospitality awards for 2013-14. By a vote of SWIOA members, officials in all sports cast their vote for the school which provides the best hospitality. Athletic directors from the schools tallying the most votes (Doug Louden of Forest Park, Brett Bardwell of Southridge, Josh Mullis of Loogootee and Kent Doades of North Knox) were each presented with a plaque at the SWIOA banquet Saturday.

As winners, each school was asked to select a female and a male student-athlete who best exemplify sportsmanship, and those students each received a $500 scholarship. The winners are Chloe Dilger and Cody Flamion of Forest Park, Kyla Schwinghammer and Logan Sollman of Southridge, Taylor Hayes and Liam Hollihan of Loogootee and Shelby Doades and Evan Bedwell of North Knox.

With this year’s awards, the Southwestern Indiana Officials Association has awarded a total of $25,000 in the past 10 years to student-athletes as a result of their hospitality/sportsmanship program. Funds for the scholarships are raised through a golf scramble held each July with officials, coaches and athletic directors in the nine-county area served by their SWIOA.

More on