Gullquist wins WBDC Country Showdown

By Herald Staff

JASPER — The 39th Annual WBDC Country Showdown local competition concluded on June 10, naming Katie Gullquist of Evansville as the winner. The area’s longest running country music talent search and was held at the Jasper Arts Center.

Katie’s combination of musical talent, stage presence, charisma and musicianship caught the attention of the judges. Bubba Wiggles of Linton was First Runner Up, and Tony Patrick of Marion was Second Runner Up. This year’s judges included Chris Camp, Kyle Lueken and Amanda Tempel.

The 39th annual WBDC Country Showdown was backed by “The Dusty Miller Band," featuring Dusty Miller, Craig Brown, Richie Chubb, Lee Hoefling, Jeff Vanderplough and Jake Miller.

The WBDC Country Showdown also featured: Eliana Weston of Northern Indiana; Annabel Whitledge of Robards, Kentucky; Ash of Paducah, Kentucky; Robert Reutman of Celestine; Rottet Family of Jasper; Neil Buechiein of Bedford; Callie Powell of Jasper; Kilbuck Creek of Northern Indiana; EV Mae of Jasper; Tylynn Allen of Ramsey.

Now in its 39th year, the WBDC Country Showdown finds the most promising country music talent in the area, giving these performers a chance to hone their skills and win great prizes. From the first winners, “Crossfire” in 1982, to this year’s winner, Katie Gullquist, the WBDC Country Showdown has proved to be a must-see event for country music fans of all ages.

More on