Filing period closes; Who’s on the primary ballot?


Voters will have some choices on the May primary and November general election ballot.

Jasper voters will select in November a mayor from Republican Dean Vonderheide, who is now serving his year as mayor, and Democratic challenger Marvin Belcher, who has served as Huntingburg’s mayor in the past.

Another noteworthy matter for the Jasper elections is who did not file for re-election — in particular, long-time Clerk-Treasurer Juanita Boehm, who has held that position since 1996, and District 3 Councilman John Bell, who served one term. Democrat Allen Seifert has filed for Boehm’s position, while Republicans Chad Lueken and Merrill Osterman have filed for Bell’s seat; the duo will face each other in the May primary election. Also in the primary election, Republican incumbent Kevin Manley faces a challenge from Republican Ryan Schuetter.

Jasper’s District 4 Councilman Dave Hurst, a Democrat, will be challenged by Republican Adrian Engelberth in the November election. Democratic incumbent Councilman Earl Schmitt and Republican challenger Paul Lorey will compete for District 5 Jasper councilman seat in that election as well.

In Huntingburg, Independent incumbent Tim Wehr will face a November challenge from Republican Keith “Curly” Souders for the city’s at-large council seat. And Republican Alex Blackgrove withdrew his filing for that seat.

In Ferdinand, Democrats Ron Weyer and Steven Pancake will run in the May primary for the party’s nomination for the Ferdinand at-large council seat, which Weyer currently holds. Democratic incumbent Ken Sicard and Republican challenger Don Farina Sr. will run for the District 1 Ferdinand council seat in the November election.

Although the filing period has closed, political parties can fill in vacancies on the ballot, in seats where the party does not have a candidate. Those filings must done by July 3.

Here is the list of people who have filed:


• Clerk-Treasurer: Democrat Tammy Miller

• Council District 1: Democrat Ken Sicard and Republican Don Farina Sr.

• Council District 2: Democrat Debbie Johnson

• Council District at large: Democrats Steven Pancake and Ron Weyer


• Council at large: Republican Melanie Barrett


• Mayor: Republican Denny Spinner

• Clerk-Treasurer: Democrat Tom Dippel

• Council District 1: Republican Glen Kissling

• Council District 2: Republican Jeff Bounds

• Council District 3: Republican Steve McPherron

• Council at large: Independent Tim Wehr and Republican Keith “Curly” Souders


• Mayor: Democrat Marvin Belcher and Republican Dean Vonderheide

• Clerk-Treasurer: Democrat Allen Seifert

• Council District 2: Democrat John Schroeder

• Council District 3: Republicans Chad Lueken and Merrill Osterman

• Council District 4: Democrat Dave Hurst and Republican Adrian Engelberth

• Council District 5: Democrat Earl Schmitt and Republican Paul Lorey

• Council District 6: Republicans Kevin Manley and Ryan Schuetter

• Council at large (two seats): Republicans Nancy Eckerle and Phil Mundy

More on