Early voting starts Wednesday, runs through Nov. 5


Starting this week, voters will be able to cast their general election ballot.

Early voting, also known as absentee voting, will start Wednesday and end on Monday, Nov. 5, the day before Election Day.

Several voting locations will be open on different days throughout the nearly monthlong early voting period. Early voting will be open on weekdays on the main floor of the Dubois County Courthouse Annex, 602 Main St., Jasper.

The site will be open from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays; on Wednesdays, the site will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m..

In addition, the annex voting site will be open from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 27, and Saturday, Nov. 3, and from 8 a.m. to noon on Monday, Nov. 5.

The 35th Street Fire Station, 118 35th St., Jasper, will be open for voting between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m. Monday, Oct. 29, through Friday, Nov. 2, and between 8 a.m. and noon on Saturday, Oct. 27 and Saturday, Nov. 3. Voters can cast a ballot at the Huntingburg Event Center, 200 E. 14th St., Ferdinand Library, 112 E. 16th St., Dubois Library, 5506 E. Main St., or Birdseye Fire Station, 9 W. First St. on Saturday, Oct. 27, and Saturday, Nov. 3, between 8 a.m. and noon.

Voting sites will be open from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. in various communities on a select day. Those locations are the St. Henry Fire Station, 1211 W. County Road 1100S, on Monday, Oct. 29; Haysville Fire Station, 177 W. State Road 56, on Tuesday, Oct. 30; Schnellville Fire Station, 8090 E. Schnellville Road, on Wednesday Oct. 31; Dubois Library on Thursday, Nov. 1; and Birdseye Fire Station on Friday Nov. 2.

Any registered voter in Dubois County can vote at any early voting location in the county. The voter will need his or her photo identification to cast a ballot.

While most races on the general election ballot are uncontested, there are several contested races in which voters will have to choose a candidate or candidates. The contested races are listed below:

U.S. Senator: Democrat Joseph S. Donnelly, Libertarian Lucy M. Brenton and Republican Mike Braun

U.S. Representative District 8: Democrat William Tanoos and Republican Larry Bucshon

State Senate District 47: Democrat Nick Siler and Republican Erin Houchin

State Representative District 63: Democrat Joseph Lannan and Republican Shane Lindauer

State Representative District 74: Democrat Larry K. Kleeman and Republican Stephen Bartels

Secretary of State: Democrat Jim Harper, Libertarian Mark W. Rutherford and Republican Connie Lawson

State Auditor: Democrat Joselyn Whitticker, Libertarian John Schick and Republican Tera Klutz

State Treasurer: Democrat John C. Aguilera, Republican Kelly Mitchell

Dubois County Council District 2: Democrat Mary E. “Becky” Beckman and Republican Darren Patterson

Dubois County Council District 3: Democrat Deborah Major and Republican Charmian Klem

Dubois County Assessor: Democrat Angela “Angie” Giesler and Republican Eve Drew

Dubois County Clerk: Democrat Kiersten Knies and Republican Amy L. Kippenbrock

Dubois County Recorder: Democrat Gail (Hasenour) Reutman and Republican Jaclyn “Jackie” McPherron

Dubois County Sheriff: Democrat Tim Lampert and Republican Tom Kleinhelter

Cass Township Advisory Board (three seats): Democrats Lee Bilderback, Steve Eckert and Lisa Matthews and Republican Randy Boehm

Madison Township Trustee: Democrat Bret Collignon and Republican Scott Blazey

Patoka Township Trustee: Independent Jeff Summers and Republican Donald J. Astrike

Birdseye Town Council (three seats): Democrats Mary Ann Cummings, Lisa Huff and Roy Partenheimer and Republican Bret Eckert

Greater Jasper School Board District 1: Ken Schnaus and Jimmy Corbin (non-partisan candidates)

Southwest Dubois School Board District 3: Jason Heile and Belinda Lange (non-partisan candidates)

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com