Dubois County issues burn ban

From Local Sources

Dubois County has joined nearly two dozen southern Indiana counties in issuing a burn ban.

On Friday, the Dubois County Commissioners and Dubois County fire chiefs announced the burn ban, which was  effective immediately and will stay in effect until further notice.

Due to the prolonged period of drought the county has experienced and lack of rainfall, there is an extreme fire hazard within Dubois County, officials said.

Prohibited is:

• Open burning of any kind using conventional fuel such as wood, or other combustible matter.

• The burning of debris, such as timber or vegetation, including such debris that results from building construction activities;

• Campfires and other recreational fires such as burn pits and bonfires. The only exception is that of grills fueled by charcoal briquettes, wood pellets or propane.

According to the Indiana Department of Homeland Security, other counties that have imposed burn bans are: Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Decatur, Floyd, Franklin, Gibson, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Lawrence, Ohio, Perry, Ripey, Scott, Spencer, Switzerland, Union and Vanderburgh.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com