County, cities receive Community Crossings grants

Photo by Jacob Wiegand
Jasper City Attorney Renee Kabrick, Mayor Terry Seitz and Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb prepared to pose for photos Wednesday at Jasper City Hall as grant recipients for the state's Community Crossings program were announced.

From Local Sources

The Indiana Department of Transportation today announced its winners in the second annual Community Crossings matching grant program, and Dubois County fared well.

The City of Jasper is ticketed to receive $1 million, while Dubois County secured $631,346.91, Ferdinand got $445,440 and Huntingburg will receive $396,198.

Launched last year, Community Crossings awards millions of dollars in funding to cities, towns and counties across the state to make improvements to roads and bridges.

Eligible projects are road and bridge preservation, roundabouts, road reconstruction projects and Americans with Disabilities Act sidewalk ramps that intersect with road projects. Trails and enhancement type projects are not eligible. Local units that perform their own force account work, such as chip sealing and crack filling, can receive funding for materials. Materials must be associated to a particular road. Labor or equipment costs are not eligible.

The most any local unit can receive was capped at $1 million.

Projects selected will be funded with either a 50-50 match or 75-25 match depending on population size.

Local units must match their grant award and match funds must come from one of three areas: revenue generated from an increase in the local unit’s motor vehicle excise surtax or wheel tax; money received by the local unit as a special distribution of local income taxes; or money in the local unit’s rainy day fund.

A full list of grant recipients from the Vincennes district is below.

The entire state list is here:

A Facebook video of the grants being announced today at Jasper City Hall is at the bottom of this story.

City of Bicknell   $408,975.00
City of Boonville   $452,656.16
City of Evansville   $463,987.62
City of Huntingburg   $396,198.00
City of Jasonville   $119,553.75
City of Jasper    $1,000,000.00
City of Linton   $670,000.00
City of Loogootee   $75,000.00
City of Mitchell   $224,100.00
City of Mt. Vernon   $479,082.26
City of Oakland City   $285,914.25
City of Princeton   $670,000.00
City of Rockport   $410,380.24
City of Sullivan   $240,037.50
City of Tell City   $693,242.24
City of Vincennes   $433,500.00
City of Washington   $536,833.92
Daviess County   $467,367.00
Dubois County   $631,346.91
Gibson County   $670,000.00
Greene County   $569,625.00
Knox County   $670,000.00
Lawrence County   $596,062.27
Martin County   $670,000.00
Orange County   $477,961.88
Perry County   $572,893.03
Pike County   $566,318.06
Posey County   $572,228.10
Spencer County   $670,000.00
Sullivan County   $420,205.91
Town of Bruceville   $51,705.00
Town of Cannelburg   $54,492.00
Town of Chrisney   $139,464.03
Town of Dale   $15,483.00
Town of Darmstadt   $430,628.18
Town of Dugger   $203,352.95
Town of Elberfeld   $76,299.26
Town of Elnora   $216,000.00
Town of Farmersburg   $240,000.00
Town of Ferdinand   $445,440.00
Town of Fort Branch   $377,880.19
Town of French Lick   $670,000.00
Town of Gentryville   $76,061.25
Town of Grandview   $65,481.50
Town of Haubstadt   $272,979.50
Town of Hymera   $240,000.00
Town of Lynnville   $22,947.00
Town of Lyons   $67,486.50
Town of Merom   $75,000.00
Town of Monroe City   $54,000.00
Town of Montgomery   $112,500.00
Town of New Harmony   $157,492.50
Town of Newburgh   $348,532.57
Town of Odon   $225,000.00
Town of Oolitic   $69,000.00
Town of Orleans   $387,533.96
Town of Owensville   $197,278.00
Town of Paoli   $229,898.25
Town of Patoka   $75,240.00
Town of Richland   $188,332.50
Town of Sandborn   $57,000.00
Town of Santa Claus   $130,556.25
Town of Shelburn   $161,141.18
Town of Troy   $126,282.00
Town of Worthington   $75,000.00
Vanderburgh County   $444,930.50
Warrick County   $352,955.42

More on