Caucus to choose from 11 for council seat

From Local Sources

JASPER — Two people have withdrawn from consideration to fill Jasper Mayor Dean Vonderheide’s seat on the Jasper Common Council, according to county Republican Party Chairman Mark Messmer.

Eleven people are currently vying for the open post. Tim Bell and Justin Kluemper pulled out of the election earlier this week.

A Republican caucus voted late last month for Vonderheide to be Jasper’s next mayor. He officially took over the position on Monday.

Those who have filed for the now-vacant council seat are: Steve Block, Adrian Engelberth, Chad Lueken, Steve Messmer, Paul Lorey, Bernie Fallon, Merrill Osterman, Phil Mundy, Patty Brosmer, Levi Hulsman and Dr. Richard Moss.

A second Republican caucus will be held in Jasper City Hall’s Pfaffenweiler Room at 9 a.m. Saturday to fill the at-large council seat; the same 13 committee people who voted in the caucus to appoint Vonderheide.

All candidates live in the city of Jasper and voted in a Republican primary the last time they voted in a primary election. A full story with details on each candidate will run in Thursday’s Herald.

More on