Braun will run unopposed; election matchups set

Herald Staff Writer

Two Dubois County men will occupy seats in the State Legislature next year.

Republican Mike Braun of Jasper is the only person running for the District 63 state representative seat; no Democrat’s name was submitted by noon Thursday, the deadline for parties to file certifications that a vacancy on its general election ballot had been filled. District 63 includes the northern half of Dubois County.

Braun will replace Jasper resident Mark Messmer in the position. Messmer, a Republican, will compete with Ireland Democrat and Dubois County Commissioner Larry Vollmer for the District 48 state senate seat. The district includes the western half of Dubois County. Incumbent Senator Lindel Hume, Democrat, has decided to retire after serving 40 years in the State Legislature.

Those running for seats to represent Dubois County residents at the local, state and national level are:

U.S. representative District 8: Democrat Tom Spangler, Libertarian Andrew Horning and Republican Larry Bucshon

State representative District 63: Republican Mike Braun

State representative District 74: Democrat Chris Coyle and Republican Lloyd Arnold

State senator District 47: Democrat Richard Young and Republican Erin Houchin

State senator District 48: Democrat Larry Vollmer and Republican Mark Messmer

Secretary of state: Democrat Beth White, Libertarian Karl Tatgenhorst and Republican Connie Lawson

State Auditor: Democrat Mike Claytor, Libertarian John Schick and Republican Suzanne Crouch

State Treasurer: Democrat Mike Boland, Libertarian Michael Jasper and Republican Kelly Mitchell

County commissioner District 2: Democrat Elmer Brames and Republican Doug Uebelhor

County council District 1: Democrat Craig Greulich

County council District 2: Democrat Mary “Becky” Beckman and Republican Adrian Engelberth

County council District 3: Democrat Nancy Wilson and Republican Charmian Klem

County council District 4: Republican Jerry Hunefeld

County assessor: Democrat Gail Gramelspacher

County auditor: Democrat Kathy Hopf

County clerk: Democrat Cheryl Schnell and Republican Bridgette Jarboe

County prosecutor: Democrat Anthony Quinn

County recorder: Democrat Rebecca Gates and Republican Gregory Abell

County sheriff: Democrat Donny Lampert

Circuit court judge: Democrat Nathan Verkamp and Republican Kevin Crouse

Bainbridge Township trustee: Democrat Ken Buck

Bainbridge Township advisory board (three seats): Democrats Charles “Chill” Habig, David Hurst and David Spellmeyer

Boone Township trustee: Republican Mark Kieffner

Boone Township advisory board (three seats): Republicans Kimberly Hoffman, Pamela Weisheit and Susan Weisman

Cass Township trustee: Democrat James Meyer

Cass Township advisory board (three seats): Democrats Lee Bilderback, Lisa Matthews and Dennis Schaeffer

Columbia Township trustee: Republican Larry Hall

Columbia Township advisory board (three seats): Republicans Donald Harrison, Melvin Leistner and James Leon Wineinger

Ferdinand Township trustee: Democrat David Kemper

Ferdinand Township advisory board (three seats): Democrats Albert Dilger, Francis Egler and Michael Lindauer

Hall Township trustee: Democrat Allen Thewes

Hall Township advisory board (three seats): Democrats Jeff Betz, Kevin Knies and Fred Lampert

Harbison Township trustee: Republican Marvin Eisenhut

Harbison Township advisory board (three seats): Republicans Dalcus Fuhrman, Lorie Hubbs and Mary Lou Zehr

Jackson Township trustee: Democrat Sylvester Voegerl

Jackson Township advisory board (three seats): Democrats Nathan Brinkman, Dan Oeding and Gregory Welp

Jefferson Township trustee: Democrat Brian King

Jefferson Township advisory board (three seats): Democrats Charlene Atkins and Doris Schnell and Republican Jack Doyle Dooley

Madison Township trustee: Democrat Jason “Jay” Terwiske and Republican Cathy “Kitty” Merkley

Madison Township advisory board (three seats): Democrats Pat Lichlyter, Mark Schmitt and Alan Small and Republican Glen Englert

Marion Township trustee: Democrat Clarence Reckelhoff

Marion Township advisory board (three seats): Democrats Eugene Bachman, James Hasenour and Randy Lueken

Patoka Township trustee: Republican Don Astrike

Patoka Township advisory board (three seats): Democrats Larry Ferguson and Roland Terwiske and Republican Jeffrey Bounds

Birdseye town council (three seats): Democrats Jerry Allstott, Kermitt Clyde Huff and Kelly Wiseman

Birdseye clerk-treasurer: Democrat Brittany Schepers

Candidates have until noon next Tuesday to withdraw from a race. School board filings will open Wednesday, Aug. 6, and close at noon Friday, Aug. 22.

Contact Candy Neal at

More on