Bombers open Bluegrass World Series with victory

From Herald Staff Reports 

After the Dubois County Bombers saw their regular season come to an end last weekend, they quickly had an opportunity to bounce back after their loss in the Ohio Valley League championship series with a fresh start in the Bluegrass World Series.

How did they handle that opportunity? The Bombers took advantage of some extra-base hits and strong pitching to defeat their fellow OVL rival Owensboro RiverDawgs 9-6 to open the tournament at Slugger Field in Louisville. The Bombers are 

After Owensboro struck first, Dubois County took a 2-1 lead in the bottom of the second on an RBI groundout from Michael Blair and a wild pitch. Owensboro once again tied the game up shortly after to make it 2-2 and then the Bombers used an RBI single from Matt Ellis to take a 3-2 advantage. 

Dubois County stretched their lead to 5-2 after a two-RBI double from Bryson McNay in the bottom of the fourth inning. The RiverDawgs bounced back in the top of the sixth inning after Tanner Singleton scored two Owensboro baserunners with a single to make it 5-4.

The Bombers’ biggest inning came in the bottom of the sixth as Southridge grad Tucker Schank drove in two with a two-RBI double and Jasper alum Adam Hedinger scored another run with a sacrifice fly to make it 8-4. Dubois County’s final run came in the bottom of the seventh inning when Chase Hug drove in Zuriel Collins with an RBI groundout.

Tucker Schank and Chase Hug led the way with two base hits while Schank and Bryson McNay both drove in two runs. Chase Rudy got the win on the mound as he pitched two innings of relief, giving up just one earned run while striking out two batters. Benton McGill, Samuel Steimel, Brennan LaBarbera and Thomas King all contributed to the Bombers’ pitching efforts as well.

The Bombers will be back in action on Friday evening against the Louisville Stars, a team full of ex-MLB players including Johnny Damon, Brad Penny and Jason Motte. Dubois County defeated the Stars last year to take home the Bluegrass World Series championship trophy. 

More on