Area players receive HBCA honors

From Local Sources

Five local girls basketball players were named to the Southern Indiana Basketball Coaches All-District Teams on Friday evening.

Forest Park’s Taylor Bayer and Lanette Blume, Northeast Dubois’ Tyla Rasche and Heritage Hills’ Abby Wahl and Kate Kaetzel were all selected as All-District representatives.

The selections are chosen by members of the Hoosier Basketball Coaches Association and the representatives are all members of the senior class.

Bayer averaged 9.9 points per game for the Rangers including scoring a season-high 27 points in a win against Tecumseh while Blume finished the season averaging 9.1 points per game and is expected to continue her basketball career collegiately at Hanover College.

Rasche finished her senior campaign with the Jeeps by leading Northeast Dubois to a sectional championship while averaging 12.1 points per game.

Wahl averaged an area-high 20.2 points per game, including a 36-point outburst against South Central (Elizabeth), and will continue her basketball career collegiately at Eastern Illinois University. Kaetzel averaged 7.3 points per game and was a vocal leader for a Patriot team that finished with a 17-4 record.

More on