6 countywide burn bans imposed

By The Associated Press

INDIANAPOLIS — Six county-wide burn bans have been imposed across Indiana amid dry conditions in the state, officials said Wednesday.

Daviess, Lawrence, Martin, Parke, Union and Vermillion counties have declared the bans on open burning, the Indiana Department of Homeland Security said.

Much of the state is experiencing abnormally dry conditions, and a swath of northern and northeastern Indiana have entered a moderate drought, the National Weather Service reported.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com