139 Southridge seniors set to graduate


HUNTINGBURG — The Southridge High School Class of 2019 will graduate at 7 p.m. Friday in Memorial Gym, with 139 seniors accepting their diplomas.

Michael Kappner of Huntingburg is the valedictorian, and Cameron Buschkoetter and Jaden Hayes, both of Huntingburg, are the salutatorians.


Michael Kappner
Kappner is the son of Joe and Stacy (Fulkerson) Kappner of Huntingburg.

In high school, he played golf and tennis and was a member of National Honor Society and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. He was also a freshman mentor.

He was awarded the Huntingburg Optimist Youth of the Month award, the Indiana Rising Star, the Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizen Award and the Richard Lugar Leadership Award. He was also a three-year recipient of the tennis leadership award.

He has been awarded the Jason Feldmeyer Memorial Scholar and Fred Souders and Lee Ray Olinger Aviation scholarships, which he will use to study aerospace engineering at Purdue University in West Lafayette.


Cameron Buschkoetter
Buschkoetter is the son of Charlie and Jackie (Seifrig) Buschkoetter of Huntingburg.

In high school, Buschkoetter was involved with the Mayor’s Youth Council, National Honor Society, Southridge Choir, Spanish club and Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

He was awarded student of the month three times, achieved academic honors all four years and was an Indiana Academic All-Star nominee. He also received a senior choir award.

He won the Purdue Presidential Scholarship and the Jeanette Rauscher Foundation scholarship, both of which he will use to pursue a doctorate of pharmacy at Purdue University in West Lafayette.


Jaden Hayes
Hayes is the son of Kevin and Lori (Hayes) Jewell of Huntingburg.

During high school, he played varsity basketball all four years and varsity track three years. He was also a freshman mentor.

He was a member of the First Team Academic All-State for basketball and a two-time Pocket Athletic Conference Champion in discus and a two-time first team All-PAC.

He was accepted into the University of Evansville’s highly competitive Baccalaureate to Doctor of Medicine program and has received a scholarship through that program. He also received the Lexi Mattingly Scholarship. He will study neuroscience at the University of Evansville before attending the Indiana University School of Medicine in Evansville.

More on DuboisCountyHerald.com